Wooded Hill

Peak Name: Wooded Hill
Distance: 1.49 miles
Date: November 11, 2017 (Sept 14, 2019)
Summit: 6,216 feet

My third summit of the day was the nature trail of Wooded Hill. I have been trying to tack this peak on to the end of my other hikes in the Lagunas, but time constraints always seemed to nix it. The trail is not too far off the 8 along Sunrise Highway.

IMG_6216

As I pulled into the parking area, there was one family getting ready to hit the trail as well. If you are looking for a fun mountain hike with the kids, this one should be on your shortlist.

IMG_6221

The trail is easy to follow, quite the change from the day’s first two hikes. Along the route, there are numbered markers that you can use the brochure to learn more about the plants and wildlife. Once at the high point, again you are rewarded with some lovely views.

img_6222

I continued the loop and quickly found myself back at the car.

Update: September 14, 2019

Since it was still early after finishing Oakzantia, I decided to drive up to the Lagunas and quickly so Wooded Hill. I had planned to do this when I did Manza Benchmark and Sheephead Mountain but I thought why not just get it out of the way. I drove down the short spur road the trailhead. Another car was parked under the shade of the trees. While it was still warming up, I knew this trail was short and shaded.

IMG_5684

I hustled along the trail toward the summit. The trees certainly made for a pleasant canopy to walk under. The summit is nondescript with no register nor benchmark.

 

I decided to make the loop again. Two mountain bikers were making their way up, which I politely informed them at this was a hiking-only trail. A bit later I passed a family enjoying the trail as well. Back at the car, it was nice to mark this peak off the list. That was peak 62 of my 100 Peak Challenge.

wooded-hill

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.